top of page

Stock Show History

The Erath County Junior Livestock Show is an integral aspect of our community, providing our 4H & FFA members an opportunity to exhibit and sell their project animals. Erath County boasts a rich history in agriculture in all aspects of farming,  ranching and dairy operations. The junior livestock show took root approximately 60 years ago and has been held annually since its inception. First held at Stephenville City Park, the show then moved to Tarleton State University and finally to its current location on FM 2157. The current location was established on land donated by a group of community members in the early 1960s. And originally the show was sponsored by the Agriculture Committee of the Chamber of Commerce but is now currently conducted by the Erath County Livestock Association's Junior Livestock Show Committee through many volunteers who donate countless hours to support the event. 

During the early days of the show, approximately 90 animals of all species were exhibited. At the 2019 show over 587 animals were entered, and the total auction was $380,160.00. The show continues to grow in both size and scope in an attempt to meet the changing needs of current 4H and FFA members.

bottom of page